Section Map

map of KLS region

The Kentucky Lake Section of the American Chemical Society (KLS-ACS) comprises the following counties from Southern Illinois, Western Kentucky, and Northwestern Tennessee:  Massac, McCracken, Ballard, Carlisle, Hickman, Fulton, Obion, Lake, Dyer, Gibson, Crockett, Madison, Henderson, Carroll, Henry, Weakley,
Graves, Marshall, Stewart, Caldwell, Lyon, and Calloway.

Our History

On July 9, 1958 a group of 112 chemists from Western Kentucky, Western Tennessee, and Southern Illinois submitted a petition to the American Chemical Society requesting formation of the Kentucky Lake Local Section.  On September 9, 1958 the Council voted to grant the Charter.

The historic documents:


Official Notification (dated Oct 23, 1958)


Charter Members

Section Bylaws

Current Section Bylaws (effective Dec 1, 2011)

Contact Us

Visit us on Facebook or email us at